Home LATEST NEWS Omicron: Israel places eight countries, including Canada, on red list | ...

Omicron: Israel places eight countries, including Canada, on red list | Coronavirus


Following the recommendations of the Ministry of Health, Israeli ministers voted on Monday to register the United States, Italy, Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Morocco, Portugal, Switzerland, Turkey, but also Canada on this list Red, the prime minister’s office said in a statement.

Travel restrictions will take effect Tuesday at 10 p.m. GMT, after which time Israelis will need to obtain special permission to travel to those countries.

Anyone residing in Israel will therefore be prohibited from leaving the country to go to one of the destinations on the red list, unless they have the authorization issued by the exceptions committee.

Likewise, people from these countries wishing to travel to Israel will only be able to do so with special permission.

Anyone entering Israel must comply with a quarantine, even if they are adequately vaccinated.

In a televised address on Sunday, Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett said Israel had bought time by acting quickly to restrict travel when Omicron was discovered last month, but that time was now running out. He also predicted an upsurge in cases of infection within a few weeks.

Read:  Russia responds to Western economic sanctions

Israel has 134 confirmed cases linked to Omicron and another 307 suspected cases, including 167 symptomatic, the health ministry said. The country has recorded 8,232 deaths from COVID-19 since the start of the epidemic.

Israel was one of the first states in the world to roll out its COVID-19 vaccination campaign, some 4.1 million people (out of a total of 9.3 million) received their third dose of Pfizer’s vaccine. BioNTech.

The evolution of COVID-19 from hour to hour.
Previous articleMyanmar: Aung San Suu Kyi will know his fate on December 27
Next articleEncouraging Data for Third Dose of Moderna’s Vaccine Against Omicron | Coronavirus