Are you worried that your personal data, text messages and photos are not safe when you leave your smartphone in a store to have it repaired? Samsung has created a reassuring feature for owners of Galaxy devices.
Repair was announced in a press release spotted by the specialized site SamMobile on the group’s Korean-language corporate communications page.
Once enabled through settings, this mode will reboot the device and thereafter only provide access to apps installed by default on the phone.
Messages, photos and personal accounts will no longer be accessible until an authenticated user – by fingerprint or secret code – deactivates the mode.
This feature will first be made available on Galaxy S21 devices in South Korea. The company plans to offer it for other models.
Samsung has not specified until now if this function will also be offered in other countries.